图片
I've been wanting to heating hot water in my house and workshop for reliable, affordable and environmentally friendly way.

Trying to realize this wish in life, in early 2010, I began to look closely to street wood-burning stoves, installed outdoors. The week before last Christmas, my dream has come true - the first time I sank a furnace. And as in the past few months, I mentioned the project in its columns, readers have asked me to talk more about this.

Outdoor woodburners have been around for decades, but only a few years ago they used wood burning technology has reached a sufficient level of environmental safety to the furnace can be called truly environmentally friendly.

At first glance, all these stoves look the same. Imagine a small, metal building, the size does not exceed half of the shed for garden tools. On one of its sides is the furnace door. The energy released by burning wood heats the water in it to about 820C. From a boiler heated water is fed by underground pipes to the house and workshop. Hot water can be used to heat radiators, underfloor heating or for heating air in systems with forced air heating.

When using outdoor furnaces fire, ash, and other hazards related to wood heating, remain on the street. Firebox of such furnaces are large enough to accommodate large pieces of wood, so cut and chopped wood for them is much easier. It is these two advantages street ovens caught my attention. I soon found out that there are two technical parameters that characterize the efficiency of a particular unit. First, the quantity of heat energy reaches the water tank? Secondly, as far as safety of the unit for the environment?

When the seller of a small building the store where I buy everything you need to learn that I install outdoor furnace, he was surprised at what I do. "But these stoves wood burning  burn small grove of trees a year, is not it?" That is true. At least, this applies to some models. The difference between efficient and inefficient furnace street is that the first burns about 55 m3 of wood per year, and the other about 110.

I purchased the outdoor stove, and the reason I chose it, is to design the furnace. The boiler is full of precision steel tubes surrounded by water. For these pipes flue gases carry an enormous amount of heat energy to the water, and then to go into the chimney.

The design of fire-tube boiler was developed in 1804. At the time, they were a distinctive feature of marine and locomotive boilers. Such designs furnaces used today in industrial boilers.

I installed outdoor oven has 20 horizontal flue pipes passing through the main part of the boiler, and six vertical coming out of the furnace. In general, an almost 31 meter heat pipes, in addition to the inner surface of the furnace itself.

The heat transfer in many other outdoor furnaces, which I saw, due only to the inner surface of the combustion chamber, they are completely missing the flue ways. Although this is partly distinguishes inefficient outdoor furnaces from efficient, the most impressive difference is due to an incredible event that occurred during the Second World War.





Leave a Reply.